A Hiker Retires 12 Million Steps

Deb Leitner Frey
3 min readAug 31, 2020
photo by d. frey

I’m a recreational hiker, but a hiker I am. This year, forcing a bit more introspection and considerably more outdoor miles than usual, I came to love my worn Merrell hiking shoes; I mean I love these shoes. I’m not exactly sure how long I’ve been wearing them, but my most conservative estimate is that they are as old as my younger child, who is turning 30.

I remember them being a bit stiff out of the box, and there were times I defaulted to running shoes for the comfort, but as any hiker knows, sneakers don’t cut it on most trails. Gradually I broke in the Merrells, and this year I said to my spouse and hiking partner more than once, I freakin love these shoes. They fit like a glove, like a friend; no, like well-worn hiking shoes. I hike most weekends, and on every vacation my husband and I take. Doing some loose math, I figure I have walked about 6400 miles or 12 million steps in these shoes.

My shoes have taken me on a myriad of hikes near my home in the Lower Hudson Valley of New York — along the Palisades and on various portions of the Long Path, which stretches some 350 miles between the George Washington Bridge and Albany; up and along Hook Mountain and Bear Mountain, Pine Meadow Lake, and the Ramapo Preserve. They walked portions of the Hudson Highlands, the Shawangunk Ridge, and trails near every New York State region, from Montauk to Buffalo.

My shoes explored the coast of Maine, from the vantage point of the astonishingly beautiful Acadia National Park, and the equally stunning vistas from trails in Oregon, Washington, and Vancouver. My shoes and I especially loved Columbia Gorge, Silver Falls State Park, and Stanley Park in hip, unique Vancouver. My shoes walked in California, through the redwood forests, and did a bit of rambling back east in Montreal (Mount Royal…who knew?) and on dozens of trails in New England.

My shoes were perhaps at their best in Sedona, Arizona, our favorite spring vacation hiking destination for the past 10 years. They look good with red dust on them, and they performed well on Soldier’s Pass and Brins Mesa and allowed me to see incomparable views of the red rocks from Airport Loop and Bear Mountain. I first became aware that my hiking shoes were breaking down a bit when crisscrossing streams in Oak Creek Canyon, but I put it out of my mind that I might need to replace them.

Yesterday, after a nice few miles in Sterling Forest State Park, I examined the rips in my shoes and made the decision to replace the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever worn, the most faithful footwear ever to accompany me on my favorite walks and adventures.

I easily found Merrells that closely resemble my original pair, and I hit PLACE ORDER as quickly as I rip off a bandaid that has been in place so long it feels like my own skin.

I know they’ll be stiff out of the box….

I know I’ll occasionally turn to the old pair, even if I curse the seepage of water soaking my socks….

But I also look forward to another 30 years with the next pair of shoes that I hope will carry me to the places I love, and to new adventures as well.

--

--